Archive for May 13th, 2009

NoScript 1.9.2.8 "stabilizes" a feature requested by many users and introduced experimentally in version 1.9.2: a way to synchronize NoScript's configuration across multiple PCs with no need of exporting/transporting any configuration file.

To accomplish this goal, NoScript persists all its preferences, whitelist and blacklist included, in a special bookmark every time they change. Then starts watching for external modifications of this bookmark, and if it detects any, loads the new configuration.

Therefore you can use any bookmark synchronization system (such as Mozilla Weave or XMarks, the two currently tested) to share your NoScript configuration changes with as many Internet-connected browser profiles as you need.

The implementation is quite simple, thanks to the Places API, but this means that it requires Firefox 3 or better.

How can you start?

  • On your "master" workstation:

    1. Install NoScript 1.9.2.8 or above.
    2. Install Mozilla Weave or the XMarks extension and configure a bookmark synchronization profile. Notice that both these systems allow you to host your data on a server of your own, even though Weave offers encryption both for transport and storage.
    3. Open the NoScript Options dialog and tick the General|Backup NoScript configuration in a bookmark for easy synchronization checkbox, then click "OK". A new bookmark folder named [NoScript] should have been created inside your Bookmarks menu.
    4. Right click the XMarks or Weave icon and select Sync now.
  • On each "slave" workstation:

    1. Install NoScript 1.9.2.8 or above.
    2. Install Weave or XMarks and configure the same synchronization profile you created on your "master" workstation.
    3. Right click the Weave or XMark icon and select Sync Now.
    4. As soon as the synchronization completes, open NoScript Options and tick the General|Backup NoScript configuration in a bookmark for easy synchronization checkbox, then click "OK".
    5. A confirmation prompt will ask you if you really want to overwrite your configuration with the content of the synchronized bookmark. Answer "OK".

Now "master" and "slave(s)" share an identical NoScript configuration. From now on, every time you change any preference or permission, the special bookmark will be updated and can be synchronized by Weave or XMark, either manually or automatically, e.g. when you start or exit the browser, transparently and with no more confirmations.

If you find any bug, need support or have suggestions to improve this feature, you can join the discussion here.

Bad Behavior has blocked 1313 access attempts in the last 7 days.